The Oscar Peterson In My Kitchen by pd lyons. from The Women Retrospective


The Oscar Peterson In My Kitchen

The Oscar Peterson in my kitchen
does not surprise me in my pyjamas
I don’t get to offer him a bowl of corn flakes
while he’s waiting for my father

No the Oscar Peterson in my kitchen
has been dead for years and Dartmouth
three thousand miles west from where I sit
amazing October sun
a solitude of coffee
and when Billie chimes in
sure isn’t it just like heaven
behind my eyes this morning?

(for jenny)

 

 

 

 

DSC_4173

 

 

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Leave a Reply

