Riding With An Angel In The Pale Moonlight, by pd lyons from Old Songs


Riding With An Angel In The Pale Moonlight

so light little queenie
I know you know the way
soon now little darling
dawn will light our way
soon now little darling
home will be in sight

I know it’s been a long time
I know you worked your heart
soon now little queenie
we’ll ride out from this dark
soon now little queenie
we’ll see the morning light

I can’t ever tell you
I don’t know any words you’d now
but you’re my own true heart girl
you’re my own true one
in darkness I trust you
in darkness no fear
I know you know the way dear
I know you always find the light

~

 

( For Jeanie

All those nights
sat silent
Smoky wine coloured
full tide
my veins
my heart
my own )

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

back in the dream time i was working with horses. Jeanie was the first horse that was truly mine. she was a beautiful liver chestnut Morgan mare with a tendency towards madness. Eventualy she put me in hospital with a punctured lung via cracked ribs and fractured collar-bone – but that’s another story. One evening we did get a bit lost in the thick of a Berkshire woodland. Eventually i just gave her, her head and she brought us out of it. In dreams the horse represents the dreamers heart. She was my wild reckless self-destructive wonderful heart. this would have been written early 1990’s

 

 

DSC_6200

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Donna J Snyder  On April 25, 2015 at 8:59 pm

    The endearments strike a chord unused my chest, maybe that’s my heart responding to your Jeanie.

    Like

    • pdlyons  On April 26, 2015 at 4:23 pm

      she was a liver chestnut white star n stripe Morgan horse she actually did get us home through a patch of forest that was so dark i couldn’t see through. eventually she’d put me in the hospital with broken ribs n punctured lung …. but it was true love

      Like

Leave a Reply

