the begining of peace, by pd lyons


DSC_0658

 

So it comes to this –

 

Look back right now

your whole life

all that done, not done, un-done

and all that resulted –

you did the best you could

and maybe no one ever said that to you

and maybe no one ever will

but you

and when you do,

say that to yourself,

observe fearlessly

and you ‘ll know its true

you did the best you could

quiet

soft

acceptance

the beginning of peace

 

DSC_0667

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • pdlyons  On September 30, 2015 at 1:21 pm

    Reblogged this on Pdlyons's Weblog.

    Like

  • Donna J Snyder  On October 1, 2015 at 11:04 am

    If only,….

    I’ve missed my quota of your poetry. Oooh. That reminds me that I HAVE BOOKS by you now. They got shelved in all the chaos of caring for Tina the few months before she died. It was a 24/7 thing, me sleeping on the floor with her. I loved that boxer and her sister who died in February. Those two dogs brought me more joy and laughter, and also affection, than any human I can think of. So I turned 60 Sept 12, list my favorite loved one the next week, and my lover boy the next week. I’ve been looking over my life and remembering all the ways I’ve failed those I loved. This poem is the antidote I needed. As always, thank you.

    Like

    • pdlyons  On October 1, 2015 at 4:01 pm

      have been slacking off on the blog lately – trying to reorganize that and other aspects of the writing and the other life. my turn for 60 is 11/11 so i am not too far behind in that dept. thanks for the dialog it is nice to hear from you. love is a matter of heart not of fur or lack of… anyway i understand the 24/7 thing. sorry for your losses but glad to know you had such good company.

      Like

Leave a Reply

