Except in John Prine by PD Lyons from “Old Songs”


DSC_1286

paris

Except in John Prine

And if I had whiskey then I’d have a drink
And if I had money I’d get me some sleep
And if I still couldn’t sleep then at least I‘d be sittin’
In a place with some heat

And there’s nothing like a city to make you know you’re alone
Nothing like darkness for seein’ all the things you ain’t done

Guess I’m just a man who never growed up
Should’a known mama weren’t lyin’
But somehow I thought it’d work out just right
I was destined for fortune and fame

But now people go by with that look in their eye
And I find that I have to agree
Cause there’s nothing more mysterious
Than just how I turned out to be me

But maybe you been down yourself
Or maybe you heard a John Prine
There’s some song he does
Not sure anymore how it goes
But it’d make you not mind maybe smile some time
When you come across someone like me

And when all someone’s got is lonely
And for sure ain’t no ship comin’ in
It might be a stranger’s smile,
A kindness with out any strings

Means more than my own silly words
Or the comfort that some small change brings

And sure I thought it’d be different
But at my age there’s no way to hide
So whether you stare or smile,
your words are gentle or snide
I’m grateful for whatever you’ll spare

Notre dam Paris

Notre dame Paris

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Donna J Snyder  On November 3, 2014 at 3:31 am

    There’s a hole in Daddy’s arm where all the money goes. Jesus Christ died for nothin’, I suppose.

    Love this, PD.

    Like

    • pdlyons  On November 3, 2014 at 8:06 pm

      true. that song makes me cry

      Like

Leave a Reply

