truly see the world, a child like poem by Pd lyons


if we truly see the world as it is our hearts would break.

and  if our hard and well protected hearts  broke

then they would become truly soft.

what if we all treated the world with softness,

the natural softness of the human heart?

is that buddha

is that Christ,

is that the Goddess

is that Allah,

God, Krishna

Zeus?

i dont know but it could be us

and  if were us, what would our world look like then?

DSC_0284

child like

 

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Donna J Snyder  On April 24, 2015 at 10:13 pm

    In the 90s, before allergies forced me to avoid pools, I would escape the high stress of my life in hypnotic lap swimmingswimming. Often I would discover that my mind was still obsessing over work or relationships, vitiating the benefits of the exercise. Although at the time I was at the height of my rabid secularism, I devised a mantra, of sorts, to distract myself from thinking of worrisome matters. It’s been decades, but as I recall, as I took my best, every other stroke, I would mentally repeat a line of the litany. I am the Buddha. I am Christ. I am the Goddess. I am Light. Over and over. I found it a useful practice. To make a long story short, which I never do, your poem transported me to that watery, rhythmic, physicality and peace. Thank you for that.

    I don’t find the poem child-like or childish, but profound, rather.

    Best wishes from El Paso Texas.

    Liked by 1 person

    • pdlyons  On April 25, 2015 at 3:42 pm

      i am always so happy to read your comments and the fact that the long story is not so short. for me to be child like is not the same as childish. not to split hairs but to be child like is to , relate in a direct more pure way to the world, a natural state if you will an open hearted way a softer way. imagine.
      cheers from the savage land (Westmeath Ireland)

      Like

Leave a Reply

