Cowboy, by pd lyons


CSC_0091

Cowboy

When I was a cowboy
I always wore boots,
I rode a chestnut mare
And she never went quits.
We’d take any trail
We’d cross any bridge.
Sometimes she was nasty,
She kicked and she bit

But we’d cover big country
By night or by day,
A walk or a jog
Or just plain run away.
I was crazy to love it,
But I thought it was fun,
Just me and the wild one
Out on our own.

But when I was a cowboy
  I always wore boots
IAnd rode a chestnut mare
Who never went quits –
Well boots is just leather
And horses do die
Now the trails paved over
And wire seems to stretch
Right up to the sky.
And me I’m just here in this ol’ county bar
Trying to roll another cigarette
And nursing warm beer.

 

 

DSC_1453

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Donna J Snyder  On April 25, 2015 at 8:44 pm

    I bet they think you’re a cowboy over there in Ireland when you song this song. Yippieyikiyay!

    Like

Leave a Reply

