Off The Bookshelf – Brave Boat Harbor & The Vinland Map and the Tartar Relation


DSC_1944

 

This is one I have had for ages. Snagged from my dads bookshelf when he was selling out of print items. It was published by Yale University Press. This copy is fifth edition C1967. As you can see it came from the library of Calvin Hosmer JR. In my opinion Calvin lived, and indeed may still be living, in a town with one of the coolest place names ever – Brave Boat Harbor! I think it is one of the main reasons I have not been able to part with it for over thirty years.

 

DSC_1942

It is inscribed by C.HJ. with the note:

“This Vinland map

was found to be

a fake  but the

book is still

good reading

CHJ”

Personally I would disagree. Once I read the inscription I was disinclined to enjoy the fore mentioned good read. Can’t help but wonder how the recipient felt getting a gift of a used book the subject of which was proved fake?  Perhaps there is a clue in that my Dad picked it up at a rummage sale for .50 ? Anyway for some reason I still keep it. Well, it was from Brave Boat Harbor, that’s just irresistible isn’t it?

DSC_1943

 

 

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Leave a Reply

