Because I Was Not There To Protect Him, by pd lyons


This great big man
only wanting to be left to himself

intruded by all those who knew better
exposed by all that heavy Modern American Medicine

This great big man
curls up fetal starving 

despite all his immense power
voice
hands
quick bright eyes
a deep pool of wisdom
we all believed infinite

This great big man decides
Fuck this. If you won’t get me out of here right now – I’ll go on my own.

and can’t

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Donna J Snyder  On August 15, 2015 at 4:38 am

    It’s horrible. It’s horribly sad . Nothing we can do to save anyone, even ourselves. I fear this, having no one to be with me, advocate for me, before the end.

    As usual, you touched a nerve. No matter your subject.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

