Happy Anniversary 18 years – (part one) more than always, more than ever,


Bravest of the brave, treasure of my heart

and because it was always summer where we met and because its been 18 yrs married and because it was and is our wedding song and because I am not or ever will be poet enough to do you justice

http://www.popscreen.com/v/72XiI/Mark-Knopfler-Night-Summer-Long-Ago-Night-in-London-Live

 

“A Night In Summer Long Ago”
by mark knopfler

My lady may I have this dance
Forgive a knight who knows no shame
My lady may I have this dance
And lady may I have your name
You danced upon a soldier’s arm
And I felt the blade of love so keen
And when you smiled you did me harm
And I was drawn to you, my QueenNow these boots may take me where they will
Though they may never shine like his
There is no knight I would not kill
To have my lady’s hand to kiss
Yes and they did take me through the hall
To leave me not one breath from you
And they fell silent one and all
And you could see my heart was trueThen I did lead you from the hall
And we did ride upon the hill
Away beyond the city wall
And sure you are my lady still
A night in summer long ago
The stars were falling from the sky
And still, my heart, I have to know
Why do you love me, lady, why?
And because you are my heart and because I still remember that moment so long ago when i thought i’d not ever see you again and how it was that moment that i knew i had to ask and oh how so fucking cool it was that you better than any molly bloom said yes –

RED IS THE ROSE

Come over the hills my bonny Irish lass
Come over the hills to your darling
You choose the road love and I’ll make a vow
That I’ll be your true love forever

Chorus:
Red is the rose that in yonder garden grows
Fair is the lily of the valley
Clear is the water that flows from the Boyne
But my love is fairer than any

It’s down in Killarney’s green woods that we strayed
When the moon and the stars, they were shining
For the moon shone its rays on her locks of golden hair
And she said she’d be my love forever

Chorus

It’s not for the parting with my sister Kate
It’s not for the grief of my mother
It’s all for the loss of my bonny Irish lass
That my heart is breaking forever

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

Leave a Reply

