waltzing the night, ruff draft from my badlands, by pd lyons


 

holding ourselves like prayers between each other
all summer sway cool through tall screened windows
bright sounds of crickets fire flies glimmer
bare feet and beating hearts
soft by each others breath
accented by full moon kisses
rising beyond any day time horizon…

 

it was one o clock this morning.
woke up no particular reason
didn’t even need to pee
kitchen floor so cold I hurt for shoes
stood there adjusting to Frigidaire light
three bottles of beer on the second shelf
opened one by the window
chugged away to those long
hard rain halos

it’s not the city I used to know with you

maybe I go for another
maybe it’ll help me sleep
probably not
these days once I’m up
even beer can’t touch me
deserted even by the small comfort of your ghost
still I sway as if some how
we’re dancing

 

mixmed collage pdl

mix-med collage pdl

DSC_2020

 

 

 

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Leave a Reply

