New Hampshire for 1933, by pd lyons


New Hampshire for 1933

Behind the bricks of ‘33
Eating soup most carefully
At 72 and 90 pounds
Cant afford to throw my weight around

I live above the Newford coin shop
They turn any gold or silver you don’t want into cash
As if some alchemic acrobat
Other than that its vacant windows mirror back
Questions, answers, I haven’t got

Used to be the fire station
Used to be a busy place
School kids for the mill town dads
Church fairs ladies auxiliary
Now it seems just me behind the bricks of ‘33

Sip my tea most carefully
Watch the river mists of morning
Rise as if they remember me

 

DSC_0333

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

Leave a Reply

