like some twilight zone episode love story, by pd lyons


that afternoon she came into the bar

told me she had something to tell me

could I please come outside?

Please.

Sure I said.

I remember a light spring day

maybe even summer

we stood together on the little concrete steps

front door of the bar

I was probably leaning against the railing

most defiantly smoking

she stepped down on the side walk

looking up she said

listen,  I just have to tell you…

some other guy she met, really thought he was the one.

 

I’m so sorry she said but I had to tell you.

I offered to buy her a drink – for old times’ sake

No she said

I’m sorry I made you sad

 I’m sure you’ll find someone too.

Good bye

she paused

thanks for being so understanding.

 you really are a good man you know.

 

and left.

 

 I went back in joined my buddy at the bar

I lit a smoke ordered us a round

in those days

we were drinking gin on the rocks with a twist

we were smoking Phillip Morris like the attorney general was a loony tunes

we were betting on the NFL like it owed us a pay check

 

Anyway before she came in

I had been telling him how I was in a bit of a jam with this young girl

she was so into me

didn’t have the guts to break her heart

 

and then she comes along and dumps me

Jesus, he said after I told him, that was like some twilight zone episode love story

 

scorpion night 6 pdlyons

scorpion night 6 pdlyons

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Leave a Reply

