Split Seconds, from Bella & Shirley by pd lyons


Split seconds

I saw the horrible red rose bloom upon her chest
heard the splatter from her back
then the rifle crack.
Our eyes meet
she whispers Bella
as she falls manages to grip my arm
pulls me to the ground
just before the next bullet
harmless ricochet.
I scramble hands and knees
Shelter among the rubble.
She had taught me well.
No point in trying to spot the sniper
the point – survive.
Hands , knees, sometimes flat on my belly
safety among the ruins.
Once again I am alone
Once again I have lost
But this time there is a difference –
she  taught me well
likewise armed me well
named me  from her blood stained mouth – Bella.

Bella, once she’d whisper with each kiss.
so she whispered with her death and once more gifts me life.

 

dsc_2505

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Leave a Reply

