Notice All the Silence That You’ve Left Behind, by pd lyons


Pdlyons's Explorations

Notice All the Silence That You’ve Left Behind

No matter how hard I wait
the rain doesn’t stop any sooner
no matter if I focus on streaming glass
or distant green as it meets the still bare tree line
no not even if I stare at the little pile of shit the neighbour’s dog left slowly steadily dissolving in the gravel

Couldn’t I just stand here all day?
Instead, get dressed
yoga later or not at all

There is a softness allowed by the absence of anxiety
a nonchalant free from worry over what to do
when after all there’s nothing –
Things will remind me, no matter what I choose

and tears a lot like rain seem never to stop
until they do and then they don’t again

~~~~~~~~~~

I go out, with the basket for wood
feed the fire started in the dark morning hours
ash and blackthorn…

View original post 48 more words

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Edward-David E. Ruiz  On January 30, 2017 at 9:11 am

    LIked the poem but I found the busy photo a bit distracting. There are too many elements on it/in it that “talk.” Just my observation, PD. Thanks again for sharing. e/s

    Like

Leave a Reply

