I Would Abandon All Other Cities For This by PD Lyons as read by the poet


I Would Abandon All Other Cities For This

To wake from sleep with little angels
Cross weeping waters ,Opiate lilies, Rolled tobacco porcelain skin
We could talk
I would give out money, paper money for free
Answer, because you are sitting on the streets I was born into this world on.

I would pass from them like loose wrappers
cobbled stone behind lost mythologies, strangers foreign even to my self
But could if I want sift sea salt stolen dreams, camera fantastic songs,
long meandering trails to and from the stars siren spiralling
a better life only in theory because I would give up all other cities for this ~

To wake from sleep with nameless angels
Cross weeping water smugglers
Beggar a hazy sun dry enough for a nod nod noddy nod.
Soft we could talk knowing no remedy for tomorrow only respite from the past,
rest your head on my shoulder, safe from all clatter drift, from the hard shelters, the rough searchers, the mingling watery blood sucked ones.

I’d tell you stories of cities abandoned long ago, Where warmth was free
angels had names; heroes would rescue even you.
I would sleep without being asleep, your head on my shoulder
I would not move when disentangled from my arms
You’ll pooch my pockets for something worth taking, cash.
Let you have it going,
never to call you anything but by your long-ago name
the one your mother whispered once all sea spray
hidden away from anyone else but me.

sometimes I will find quiet even in the day light
sometimes I will find a way warm into the night
by myself again there in only gentle ghosts I blend
my new skin, my confident sway
a sweetness beyond graves
among stars.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • laurastamps  On October 18, 2023 at 10:38 pm

    I love your video readings. This was a good one!! 💗

    Liked by 1 person

    • pdlyons  On October 20, 2023 at 11:33 am

      thanks so much. always nice to be appreciated. cheers

      Liked by 1 person

  • Edward-David Ruiz  On October 19, 2023 at 12:07 am

    Many thanks again for sharing.  God bless.  e/s

    Liked by 1 person

    • pdlyons  On October 20, 2023 at 11:33 am

      as ever I am grateful

      Like

Leave a comment